1 Comment

Bookended

I will find darkness
every night. Ask me
where I am and I can
only point to the light,
my only point of reference
and only thought at
the end.

I find myself walking
the same road
at the end of every day.
Slip slivers of light
between my feet and the ground,
stars and mirrors quivering
in the puddle between reality
and questioning.

There’s a new gravity
from me to there,
a push instead of a pull,
with every night determined
to reign bookended
on the days.
The puddle ripples
and I encroach,
flinging dusty questions
into mud.

The same rocks to crush my heel,
the same silence
in the black velvet of the ruling doubt,
the same path and the same steady stars
night after night.
Blindly fumbling,
I can jump from
patch to patch of light
where dust dances,
a constant prod of aging specks
that put the light to fire.

I will find darkness
every night. Ask me
where I am and I can
only point to the light,
my only point of reference
and only thought at
the end.

2/19/2009 – sister poem to Sun on the Books

One comment on “Bookended

  1. […] 3/23/2009 – sister poem to Bookended […]

Leave a Reply

