2 Comments

Evolution

evolve around me

          I am a pile of murky ooze
          indefinable and one-celled
          in my simplicity
          I exist in dark nothing
          no I to choose
          no capacity to move
          for a trillion years

revolve around me

          I am a pyramid of slime
          inching myself taller
          with dispensable time
          keep growing
          no I to lose
          this masterpiece
          of pieces

resolve around me

          I am the mystery
          a vast network of purpose
          a maelstrom of discovery
          and in a trillion years
          I may comprehend
          what was shed for me
          my proud apex may bend

devolve around me
   
          these extra attachments
          strip my adornments
          and the detachment
          I pretend to possess
          I blind the wonder of the past
          I hate the healing cast
          a trillion years go by so fast

evolve around me
 
          a pile of murky ooze
          a pyramid of slime
          a masterpiece
          with no master
          I pretend to confess
          my apex will never bend
          a trillion years go by so fast –

– I

have never seen a pile of slime
become a masterpiece by
surviving the longest time
but I do believe love
can create a maelstrom of discovery
a vast network of purpose
and break a healing cast

in only seven days.

7/18/2008

2 comments on “Evolution

  1. love this one, Faye!

  2. Thanks! I’m a bit leery of sharing it widely because that last line makes it sound like I’m a hardcore Creationist, when I’m not really sure what I am in that area. But I put it up here in the hope that I could succeed in communicating my beliefs in love and purpose…

Leave a Reply

