Leave a comment

This Was All

I could see nothing from where I stood.
The blackness was dark and infinite,
almost tangible.
I knew well the spirit of empty
when I gazed into the gloom.

The land was alien and strange,
had never seen a mote of change.
It stretched in all directions flat,
far as the eye could see,
never a speck of green.

I became aware then of a light,
slowly growing ever stronger,
till I closed my eyes,
washed in the glory of the Creator,
and the light seared through my eyelids.

When I opened them,
I stood quite still,
gazing around from the top of my hill,
stunned by the changes
made by the light.

Detail – so deep and intricate,
I couldn’t understand.
The land was now a brilliant green,
Full of wonders unseen,
a garden of glory proclaiming the Light.

God spoke then, and I knew it was He,
for there was no one else it could be,
and the voice of this terrible, mighty God
was filled with love for me.
Fiercely tender love for me, for me.

“Through Him all things were made; without Him, nothing was made that has been made. Dominion and awe belong to God; He establishes order in the heights of the heavens. For in the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. In Him was light, and that light was the light of men.”
~ John 1:3, Job 25:2, Genesis 1:1, John 1:4

~ 6/17/2007

 

glory

Leave a Reply

