2 Comments

I have a honeymoon on the horizon.

Today I woke up before my alarm. This is a very rare occasion. It means I went through the right number of sleep cycles and my brain went, “OK, time to wake up!” which means I actually am rested and eager to start the day. And it’s Saturday…phew. Trying to thank the Sustainer of my days for my days hasn’t been easy this week. In a less intentional frame of mind, I would say the week sucked. Just too much to do, too much stress, and next week looks just as bad, so there’s no hope! But…I’m not saying that. There were smiles last week. There were hugs from the man who gives the best hugs in the world, and I don’t think of those hugs as “little things” anymore. There was some beautiful weather to remind me that this is one of the most beautiful places in the world. I went on a run with Dad and took my sister to a movie (Tron – none of us really got it), and today I’m going to my first ever bridal shower. I have a feeling that that’s a big deal. Today is for deep breaths and smiling.

There are only about six more weeks of regular school, then a week of finals. I would like to say it’s not fair to count them as weeks when you’re supposed to do a month’s amount of work in them, but I’ll swallow that and embrace the learning. Saturation is a good thing. And when I’m done – I start my first summer as a bride.

The honeymoon is in New Mexico, in what looks like another beautiful beautiful place. We found a rental home between Taos and Santa Fe; more information, and pictures, on it when we get back. I love traveling. My family will attest to this. I love exploring new places, by plane or car or by foot-in-hiking-boot, and this May I can do all three! With the love of my life! I’m usually not an exclamation point kind of girl, but !!!

There is a deep excitement in me. There is a deep gratefulness that I am so blessed by my fiance, the one who proposed to me in a voice that went deep into my heart with the words,

“Don’t urge me to leave you or turn back from you. Where you go, I will go, and where you stay, I will stay. Your people shall be my people, and your God, my God. Where you die, I will die, and there will I be buried. May the LORD do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.”

(~straight from Ruth)

The honeymoon is the beginning of that. The first time we’ll be truly on our own together, exploring and loving and keeping promises to each other. I don’t snicker overly much at the thought of a honeymoon anymore. What a perfect beginning for a new married couple – go away from your friends and family, go where you have to rely on each other; go somewhere new, explore, form memories only you both will have. For as long as you both shall live.

Thanks be to God!

2 comments on “I have a honeymoon on the horizon.

  1. OMG!!! I’m SOOO excited for you!!! I’m going to need directions to wherever the wedding is going to be pretty soon – I can’t believe what is happening…you’re getting married…you’re going to be a WOMAN in every sense of the word and you are going to make him a MAN and it will be the most beautiful time of your life on earth -IF you remember your Father ALL the way through it. And you and Josh will grow SO CLOSE together as you grow closer to Him. Don’t let each other forget to thank Him EVERY morning you wake up by His side. =’D
    I love you!!! And miss you oh-so-very-VERY much!!

  2. Liesl, I was so excited when you came!

Leave a Reply

