Leave a comment

Words

Words fly
between my lips
my tongue clicks
against my teeth.

………………………………………I speak

Words jump
into the air between us
They stand as a wall
I crouch.

……………………………………..you only hear
……………………………………..what I want you to hear

Words form
in my mind
I present them to you
my offering, my sacrifice.

…………………………………….you take them calmly
…………………………………….offer no return

Words fill
longing
Prodding you, Speak!
You have not spoken
as I have.

…………………………………….you know it is not real

Words offer
myself
Through holes in the wall
your silence accepts them

…………………………………….you sacrifice nothing to me
…………………………………….you have not spoken yet
…………………………………….you know it is not real

With easy motion
you reach through my wall
Stop my lips
with one finger
and say

………………..”Listen”
…………………………..”I speak”

and we savor words together.

~2008?

Leave a Reply

